• Advertisement
Herb-Magic.com

It is currently Wed May 23, 2018 12:11 pm

Hoodoo and Nancy Drew

News stories and historical documents relating to the practice of conjure. Brought to you by our sister-site, Southern-Spirits.com

Hoodoo and Nancy Drew

Unread postby LaMarquise » Mon May 09, 2011 10:37 am

I started playing Her Interactive's Nancy Dree games when I was about ten, and have never kicked the habit. In their 2007 game, Nancy Drew: Legend of the Crystal Skull, set in New Orleans, Her Interactive includrd a few references to hoodoo.

Some aspects were fictionalized (namely one character's use of "hoodoo signs"), and others a little toned-down (hoodoo powders consisting of Sneezing Powder, Itching powder, etc.) But other aspects of the game touched on it rather well. They somewhat explained the practice of carrying mojo bags, the importance of herbal remedies (Nancy has the option of drinking one early on), and the importance of roots in hoodoo practice. In the garden, I noticed replaying it years later, there's actually a small bed planted intentionally with dandelions.

Of course, in the end it's painted as a silly superstition, but I have to say it was the first thing that piqued my interest. The Nancy Drew games have a large number of young Christian players who raised a stink over the inclusion of "occult practices" in the game anyway. What I found really amusing upon replaying it last year, however, was a reference NO ONE seemed to catch to another aspect of New Orleans life; vodou. One of the characters of the game is a member of a Mardi Gras Krewe that begins its meetings with the shaking of a decorated maraca while dressed as a skeleton in a moth-eaten suit and top hat.
I thank Saints Michael, Dymphna, Cecilia, Joseph, Benedict, Mary, and Muerte for their aid.
LaMarquise

Re: Hoodoo and Nancy Drew

Unread postby Miss Bri » Tue Jun 07, 2011 7:12 am