Welcome to the Lucky Mojo Forums!

Hello from NY!

ny_flybaby
Hello from NY!

Unread post by ny_flybaby » Sun Jun 07, 2015 9:59 am

I have come to a crossroads in my life and now realize that I want to help people overcome their obstacles and heal in life. I have some experience in dealing with spell work, but not hoodoo/rootwork. Now that I know a little about hoodoo/rootwork, I think it is the most practical, accessible and flexible form of the work for me. I look forward to learning more and becoming proficient.

As a child, I was interested in ghosts, angels, demons, etc. I had a great-aunt who, with her husband (my grandfather's brother) moved to NY from SC to follow my grandfather and his other brother up north to make their fortunes. She used to tell me stories of them exorcising demons from people at church and sometimes actually seeing the angry demons they exorcised. I was particularly fascinated with the descriptions of what they saw. She also did what I now recognize as southern folk magic.

As a teenager, I was interested in magical topics. However, I knew of no way to find others, so I was a solo practitioner who never learned very much. I could only get information via mail order and I remember waiting weeks for things to arrive. I used to buy books from England, I used to buy charms and readings from California, and I used to buy from from other publishers). I stopped when my family (brothers and sisters) made fun of me for it, made my life unbearable because of it, and called me an evil "witch." I had a little crystal ball too, but don't know what happened to it. I also remember actually calling rootworkers from the classified ads section of "The Enquirer" (and other publications like it). I remember my mother complaining about strange numbers appearing on the long-distance portion of the telephone bill, so I stopped.