Welcome to the Lucky Mojo Forums!

Votive Candle Questions and Answers

How to use Lucky Mojo vigil lights, novena candles, figural candles, and offertory candles, and how to fix lucky oil lamps.
chatocamacho

Votive Candle Questions and Answers

Unread post by chatocamacho » Tue Feb 10, 2009 11:01 am

Hi I recently started practicing candle magic and I was wondering if we could use votive candles insted of offertory candles?

catherineyronwode
Site Admin
Re: Votives Instead of Offertories?

Unread post by catherineyronwode » Sun Feb 22, 2009 7:01 pm

The form of a cylindrical or tapered candle -- whether tall and thin like a 6" offertory or 12" taper candle, short and thin like a 4" altar light or birthday candle, short and squat like a votive candle, tall and fat like a 9" Jumbo or Pull-Out, or long-lasting like a glass-encased Vigil Light -- is a matter of choice and convenience. Selecting candles with forms other than a straight cylinder or taper is another factor that some people consider important -- figural candles such as Adam and Eve or 7-Knob or Crucifix are utilized for various types of work, for instance.

Your decision about which form of candle to use may be influenced by the culture in which you were raised; the choices of family members, friends, or teachers who brought you into the work; your own aesthetic preferences; and what is most readily available to you at a price you can afford.

Another consideration you will want to explore is the candle's colour, which, for many practitioners, is an aid in visualizing the type of spell being cast.

However, in my opinion, the form and even the colour of the candle you choose is not as important as your intention, your focus of Will and your work manipulating candle prior to lighting it by means of old-time hoodoo techniques such as loading it, carving it, laying a petition paper beneath it, and/or dressing it with conjure oils and herbs, then praying over it for success.